Lawngtlai District was born on the 11th November 1998. Earlier on Lawngtlai and Saiha District were collectively known as Chhimtuipui District in which Saiha was the Headquarter of the district. As per Government Notification No A-60011/21/95-GAD Dated, Aizawl 11th Nov. 1998 these two districts viz. Lawngtlai and Saiha district were born. Lawngtlai District covers an area of 2258 sq.kms. and has two Autonomous District Council, viz. Lai Autonomous District Council & Chakma Autonomous District Council.